I am trapped in this silly boat.

April 3, 2009

040109143720403091355b2So this has been a few days of grading and writing. More grading than writing really, but a lot of both nonetheless. Since I can’t get anything done at home (been like that for years), that explains my consistent up-and-about-ness on the coffee shop front.

I did have an odd existential moment today, courtesy of Microsft Word. While using the “track changes” feature, I was prompted to choose to either Accept Change or Reject Change. “My word!” I thought (my inner monologue being a woman in her early ’50s), “that’s quite a big choice they’re asking me to make.” Not wanting to make a big thing of it, I opted to accept change, and I have not looked back. I applaud Microsoft Word for challenging its users to decide whether to go with the flow or rage against the machine.

“In this old ship I spend my life
With stupid captain and his stinky hat…it’s pathetic.”
-Shane Harden – “Living With Pirates”

Leave a Reply

