Gettin’ Sensual in Central Park.

August 24, 2009

Sensuous Blend in Central Park. Sounds like a trashy romance novel.

Sensuous Blend in Central Park. Sounds like a trashy romance novel.

I will not romanticize NYC. I will not romanticize NYC. I will not What the heck is that smell?romanticize NYC. I will not romanticize NYC. I will not romanticize NYC. I Dude! That was in the trash can! will not romanticize NYC. I will not Who do I have to stab to get an cappuccino around here? romanticize NYC. I will not romanticize NYC. HEY!!! I’M WALKIN’ HERE!!! I will not romanticize NYC.

I’ve been sitting in Central Park for a half hour and judging by the number of strollers, joggers, and very elderly, I’ve concluded that it Is where you either come to frolic in the gaiety of childhood, exercise, or die. Of course, the mid-20s Northwest douchebag that I am, I’m sitting on a park bench drinking coffee and blogging.  Whatever. It’s my revenge for having to wander around for nearly 45 minutes before I found a coffee shop that serves espresso. Then again, I imagine that New Yorkers feel the same in the Northwest trying to find a deli that cuts meat.

The sensation offerings of the Sensuous Bean

The sensational offerings of the Sensuous Bean

Since the caffeine craze only really took hold in the last twenty-five years, it’s interesting to see cities that built their identity before then. Every café seemed to…a kid in a stroller just gave me the weirdest look…silently suggest “if you want to sit and drink coffee like a pansy, there’s a Starbucks around the corner.” Anyways, thanks to google maps and process of elimination, I managed to actually find coffee shops that weren’t mini-restaurants and weren’t Starbucks.

For $1.25 each, they'd better be good.

For $1.25 each, they'd better be good.

While not at all what I expected, The award-winning Sensuous Bean on Columbus Avenue certainly exceeded my expectations. They carry an abundance of roasts, offer six brews “on tap,” and provide an assortment of cookies and small baked goods…in jars! The kind saleswoman (definitely not a barista) offered to make me an espresso drink but I opted for the “Sensuous Blend” instead. While they didn’t give me anywhere to sit unless I wanted to sit on the one bench out front like a lawn flamingo, Sensuous Bean clearly catered to oddballs who actually make coffee themselves.

Well, my battery is running low, and I’ve got powdered sugar on my face and pants. I should probably get going before I get mistaken for high functioning a coke addict.

Another horrified look from passerby.

*sigh*…too late.

Leave a Reply

