I have a dream…

April 27, 2010

A Facebook group to protest Facebook.

Was there a time when activism involved more than a mouse click and 140 characters?

Am I the only person who thinks Facebook groups are the third horseman of the apocalypse of social activism? A Facebook group to protest Facebook? I really don’t have the energy to even gripe how unbelievably silly this is.  Most people posting there have their legal name and a photo of themselves visible, not to mention the city they live in and what they like and dislike one click away.

Don’t even get me started on the petition. Yes, I’m sure all these people will stop using Facebook if whatever this “privacy violation” doesn’t get pulled back. Zuckerberg can just re-release it as Farmville II and it will be accepted with open arms.

I wonder how much ad revenue will be generated by all the visits to this inane group. And no, I’m not linking to it. Find it yourself if you want to “make a difference” and “stand up to the man.”

Sorry. I’ve had a headache for a few months now. I’m a little grouchy. I need progenitorivox.

Leave a Reply

